REGIONAL SCHOOL UNIT 40

Friendship • Union • Waldoboro • Warren • Washington 1070 Heald Highway, PO Box 701, Union, Maine 04862 207.785.2277

Steve Nolan, Superintendent Christina Wotton, Assistant Superintendent Karen Pike, Business Manager Karen Brackett, Director of Special Services

Board of Directors Meeting Central Office Thursday, July 1, 2021 7:00 p.m.

Join by computer: or Join by phone: <u>meet.google.com/tkv-qtkj-abn</u> (US)<u>+1 413-418-4339</u> PIN: 268 810 350#

School Board Members: Julia Abernethy, Erik Amundsen, Guy Bourrie, Morgan Hynd, Danny Jackson, Randy Kassa, Sandra O'Farrell, Angela Robinson, Brooke Simmons, Matthew Speno, Julie Swindler, Emily Trask-Eaton, Jeannette Wheeler, Melvin Williams, Robert Williams

Minutes

- I. Call to Order 7:00 p.m.
 - A. Pledge of Allegiance
 - B. Declaration of Quorum 803 of 931
 - C. Note Absences Guy Bourrie, Sandra O'Farrell
 - D. Additions/Adjustments to the Agenda None

II. Annual Reorganization of the Board

A. Election of Chair

Motion to elect Danny Jackson

Motion: Brooke Simmons

Vote: 657-0-73
(Danny Jackson)

B. Election of Vice-Chair

Motion to elect Morgan Hynd

Motion: Brooke Simmons Vote: 661-0-69 (Morgan Hynd)

C. Committee assignments

III. Consent Agenda – Approve Minutes of June 17, 2021

Motion: Melvin Williams

Second: Randy Kassa

Vote: 688-0-42

(Brooke Simmons)

IV. Superintendent and/or Chair Reports

- A. Superintendent's Report
- B. Board Chair's Report
- C. Business Manager's Report

V. Audience with the Public

VI. Action Items

A. Approve principal nomination

A. Scott White - Union Elementary School

Motion: Melvin Williams Second: Brooke Simmons Vote: 803-0-0

B. Approve teacher nomination

A. Kristina Moro – Teacher – Union Elementary School

Motion: Morgan Hynd Second: Mathew Speno Vote: 803-0-0

C. Approve a memorial bench in memory of Zachary Michael Winpenny to be placed on the Union Elementary School grounds

Motion: Morgan Hynd Second: Julie Swindler Vote: 803-0-0

- D. Approve student representatives to the Board of Directors for the 2021-22 school vear
 - 1. Natalie Dean
 - 2. Owen Weber
 - 3. Elizabeth Swan, alternate

Motion: Julie Swindler Second: Brooke Simmons Vote: 803-0-0

- E. Approve policies for 2nd read
 - 1. BEDD Rules of Order
 - 2. JLDA Wellness

Motion: Matthew Speno Second: Brooke Simmons Vote: 803-0-0

VII. Committee Meetings

A. Finance – July 15th @ 5:30 p.m. – Central Office

- VIII. Board Meeting July 15th @ 7:00 p.m. Central Office
- IX. Region 8 Board Meeting August 25th @ 7:00 p.m. Region 8
- **X. Adjourn** 7:38 p.m.

All meetings of the Board, except executive sessions, will be open to the public. All actions of the Board will be taken openly. The public and district employees are encouraged to attend Board meetings. A time for comments by visitors at Board meetings will be scheduled on the Board's agenda. Public input is welcomed but the Board Chair may limit discussion.