REGIONAL SCHOOL UNIT 40

Friendship • Union • Waldoboro • Warren • Washington 1070 Heald Highway, PO Box 701, Union, Maine 04862 207.785.2277

Steve Nolan, Superintendent Christina Wotton, Assistant Superintendent Karen Pike, Business Manager Karen Brackett, Director of Special Services

Board of Directors Meeting Thursday, August 6, 2020 Remote Meeting Via Google Meet 7:00 p.m.

Join by Computer: Audio and Visual
meet.google.com/ocx-gegw-vmrorJoin by phone: Audio Only
(US) +1 505-663-6847 PIN: 824 439 523#

School Board Members: Erik Amundsen, Sara Andrews, Guy Bourrie, Morgan Hynd, Danny Jackson, Randy Kassa, Lynda Letteney, Sandra O'Farrell, Errol Silvestri, Brooke Simmons, Matthew Speno, Julie Swindler, Emily Trask-Eaton, Melvin Williams, Robert Williams

Student Representatives: Sean Sebrey, Owen Weber

Minutes

- I. Call to Order 7:07 p.m.
 - A. Pledge of Allegiance
 - B. Declaration of Quorum 749 of 945; 804 of 945; 945 of 945
 - C. Note Absences Erik Amundsen, Emily Trask-Eaton, Erik Amundsen joined at 7:19; Emily Trask-Eaton joined at 7:23
 - D. Additions/Adjustments to the Agenda Move action items A, B, D and E to before Educational Issues

II. Audience with the Public

III. Consent Agenda – Approve Minutes of July 16, 2020

Motion: Lynda Letteney Second: Melvin Williams

Vote: 707-0-42 (Errol Silvestri)

IV. Superintendent and/or Chair Reports A. Superintendent's Report

- A. Superintendent's Repor
- B. Board Chair's Report

V. **Action Items**

C.

- A. Approve teacher nomination
 - 1. Mandi Freeman Teacher Miller School

	2. Marilee Harris – Teacher – F Motion: Erik Amundsen	Friendship Village School Second: Guy Bourrie	Vote: 945-0-0	
B.	Approve District Comprehensiv Motion: Melvin Williams	e Emergency Management Plan Second: Lynda Letteney	Vote: 945-0-0	
C.	Approve policies for 1 st and 2 nd read 1. AC – Nondiscrimination/Equal Opportunity and Affirmative Action			

- 2. ACAA Harassment and Sexual Harassment of Students
- 3. ACAA-R Student Discrimination and Harassment Complaint Procedure
- 4. ACAB Harassment and Sexual Harassment of Employees
- 5. ACAB-R Employee Nondiscrimination/Harassment Complaint Procedure
- 6. EEBB Use of Private Vehicles on School Business
- 7. JJIF Management of Concussions and Other Head Injuries
- 8. JJIF-E RSU 40 Concussion Information Sheet

Motion: Matthew Speno Second: Brooke Simmons Vote: 945-0-0

D. Approve policies for deletion

- 1. AC Nondiscrimination/Equal Opportunity and Affirmative Action
- 2. ACAA Harassment and Sexual Harassment of Students
- 3. ACAA-R Student Discrimination and Harassment Complaint Procedure
- 4. ACAB Harassment and Sexual Harassment of Employees

5. ACAB-R – Employee Nondiscrimination/Harassment Complaint Procedure Motion: Matthew Speno Second: Guy Bourrie Vote: 945-0-0

VI. Educational Issues - Plan for Reopening Schools

Move to extend meeting until business is completed						
Motion: Guy Bourrie	Second: Matthew Speno	Vote: 903-42-0				
		(Errol Silvestri)				

Motion to table until next meeting

Motion: Sara Andrews Second: Emily Trask-Eaton Vote: 184-761-0 (Erik Amundsen, Guy Bourrie, Morgan Hynd, Danny Jackson, Randy Kassa, Lynda Letteney, Sandra O'Farrell, Brooke Simmons, Matthew Speno, Julie Swindler, Melvin Williams, Robert Williams)

VII. Action Item

C. Approve Plan to Reopen Schools, Including the Hybrid and Remote Learning Plans

Motion to open schools in Friendship Village School and Prescott Memorial School to full time in-person instruction and other schools on hybrid model until they meet the requirements set forth by the state and let the cohorts to be decided by the adminstriation.

Motion: Guy Bourrie Second: Melvin Williams Vote: 578-367-0 (Sara Andrews, Sandra O'Farrell, Errol Silvestri, Matthew Speno, Emily Trask-Eaton, Robert Williams)

Motion to add Cohort A (option 1) and to open schools in Friendship Village School and Prescott Memorial School to full time in-person instruction and other schools on hybrid model until they meet the requirements set forth by the state and let the cohorts to be decided by the administration.

Motion: Erik Amundsen Second: Lynda Letteney Vote: 266-679-0 (Sara Andrews, Guy Bourrie, Morgan Hynd, Danny Jackson, Sandra O'Farrell, Brooke Simmons, Matthew Speno, Emily Trask-Eaton, Melvin Williams, Robert Williams)

VIII. Executive Session 1 M.R.S. §405(6)(C) Personnel

Motion: Erik Amundsen	Second: Brooke Simmons	Vote: 890-0-0
In: 10:18 p.m.	Out: 10:22 p.m.	(Guy Bourrie absent)

A. Action as a result of Executive Session There was no action as a result of Executive Session.

IX. Committee Meetings

- A. Finance August 20th @ 5:30 p.m. Central Office
- X. Board Meeting August 20th @ 7:00 p.m. Central Office
- XI. Region 8 Board Meeting August 26th @ 7:00 p.m. Region 8
- **XII.** Adjourn 10:23 p.m.

All meetings of the Board, except executive sessions, will be open to the public. All actions of the Board will be taken openly and the deliberations leading to Board action will likewise be conducted openly. The public and district employees are encouraged to attend Board meetings. A time of up to thirty minutes in duration for comments by visitors at Board meetings will be scheduled at the beginning of the Board's agenda. Board committee meetings are open to the public. Public input is welcomed but the Board Chair may need to limit discussion.

Regional School Unit 40 promotes a fragrance-free workplace. Thank you for not wearing any of the following during your visit: cologne, aftershave lotion, perfume, perfumed hand lotion, fragranced hair products, scented laundry detergent and/or similar products. Students and staff thank you for keeping our environment safe.