REGIONAL SCHOOL UNIT 40

Friendship • Union • Waldoboro • Warren • Washington 1070 Heald Highway, PO Box 701, Union, Maine 04862 207.785.2277

Steve Nolan, Superintendent Kimberly Schroeter, Director of Instruction Karla Miller, Business Manager Karen Etheridge, Director of Special Services

Board of Directors Meeting Minutes Thursday, October 1, 2015 Medomak Middle School 7:00 p.m.

School Board Members: Erik Amundsen, Sara Andrews, Guy Bourrie, Tod Brown, Cheryl Cichowski, Dana Dow, Danny Jackson, Lynda Letteney, Sandra O'Farrell, Dorothy Robinson, Errol Silvestri, Brooke Simmons, Tara Wellman, Bob Williams, Dennis Wooster

Student Representatives: Sophie Cohen and Patrick White

Agenda Topic

I. Opening

A. Call to Order - Chair Danny Jackson called to order the meeting at 7:02

- 1. Pledge of Allegiance
- 2. Declaration of Quorum
- 3. Note Absences Cheryl Cichowski, Errol Silvestri, Prooke Simmons (arrived @ 7.22), Reh William
 - Brooke Simmons (arrived @ 7:22), Bob Williams
- 4. Adjustments to the Agenda
 - a. Remove action Item B

II. Audience with the Public

III. Consent Agenda

Motion to approve minutes of September 17, 2015 Guy Bourrie Second: Erik Amundsen Vote: 587 – 0 – 146

(Dana Dow, Lynda Letteney)

IV. Superintendent and/or Chair Reports

A. Superintendent's Report

a. Attached

B. Board Chair's Report

b. Attached

- C. Business Manager's Report
- D. Student Representative(s) Report
- V. Reports from Schools

VI. Presentations

VII. Educational Issues

VIII. Action Items

A. Approve alternate student representative, Jacob Faria, for 2015-16 school year

Motion: Dennis Wooster Second: Sara Andrews Vote: 733 – 0 – 0

- **B.** Approve the following teacher nomination: a. Dawn Bedenik – Literacy Interventionist – Warren Community School
- C. Approve Medomak Valley High School courses of studyMotion: Lynda LetteneySecond: Erik AmundsenVote: 775 0 0
- D. Approve Medomak Valley High School classes with fewer than ten students enrolled

Motion: Guy Bourrie Second: Erik Amundsen Vote: 775 – 0 – 0

E. Approve nominations to the Delegate Assembly of Maine School Boards Association

Motion to nominate Danny Jackson and Sandra O'Farrell, alternate: Lynda Letteney Second: Dennis Wooster Vote: 775 – 0 – 0

F. Approve policies for 1st reading

- a. GCOC Evaluation of Administrative Staff
- b. GCSA Employee Digital Device and Internet Use
- c. GCSA-R Employee Digital Device and Internet Use Rules
- d. IJNDB Student Digital Device and Internet Use and Internet Safety
- e. IJNDB-R Student Digital Device and Internet Use and Internet Safety Regulations
- f. GCOA Supervision and Evaluation of Professional Staff

Motion: Guy Bourrie Second: Sandra O'Farrell Vote: 775 – 0 – 0

G. Approve policies for deletion

	Extra-Curricular Program Can Second: Sandra O'Farrell	e
b. GCA Professional Teach Motion: Guy Bourrie	ning Staff Second: Sandra O'Farrell	Vote: 775 – 0 – 0
c. CHCAA Student Handbo Motion: Guy Bourrie		Vote: 733 – 42 – 0 (Brooke Simmons)

IX. Committee Reports

- A. Curriculum Committee October 6th @ 5:00 p.m. MMS
- B. Facilities-Transportation Committee October 8th @ 4:30 p.m. Miller
- C. Finance Committee October 13th @ 5:00 p.m. Central Office
- D. Policy Committee October 27th @ 5:00 p.m. Central Office
- E. Negotiations Committee TBA @ 5:00 p.m. Central Office
- F. Personnel Committee TBA
- X. Region 8 Board October 28th @ 7:00 p.m. MCST
- XI. Adjournment 8:27 p.m.

All meetings of the Board, except executive sessions, will be open to the public. All actions of the Board will be taken openly and the deliberations leading to Board action will likewise be conducted openly. The public and district employees are encouraged to attend Board meetings. A time of up to thirty minutes in duration for comments by visitors at Board meetings will be scheduled at the beginning of the Board's agenda. Board committee meetings are open to the public. Public input is welcomed but the Board Chair may need to limit discussion.