REGIONAL SCHOOL UNIT 40

Friendship • Union • Waldoboro • Warren • Washington 1070 Heald Highway, PO Box 701, Union, Maine 04862 207.785.2277

Steve Nolan, Superintendent Kimberly Schroeter, Director of Instruction Karla Miller, Business Manager Karen Etheridge, Director of Special Services

Revised Board of Directors Meeting Minutes Thursday, June 16, 2016 Medomak Valley High School Cafeteria 7:00 p.m.

School Board Members: Erik Amundsen, Sara Andrews, Guy Bourrie, Tod Brown, Cheryl Cichowski, Seth Hall, Natasha Irving, Danny Jackson, Lynda Letteney, Sandra O'Farrell, Dorothy Robinson, Errol Silvestri, Brooke Simmons, Bob Williams, Dennis Wooster

Student Representatives: Patrick White, Jake Faria

I. Opening

A. Call to Order – 7:00 p.m. – Danny Jackson

- 1. Pledge of Allegiance
- 2. Declaration of Quorum 702/945
- 3. Note Absences Errol Silvestri, Cheryl Cichowski (excused), Seth Hall, Natasha Irving (arrived at 7:52), Jacob Faria
- 4. Adjustments to the Agenda

II. Presentations

2016 North Class B MPA Good Sportsmanship Award – MVHS Boys Track & Field 2016 North Class B MPA Good Sportsmanship Award – MVHS Girls Tennis

III. Audience with the Public

- IV. Consent Agenda Agenda Approve Minutes of June 2, 2016 Motion: Lynda Letteney Second: Sandra O'Farrell Vote: 702 – 0 – 0
- V. Superintendent and/or Chair Reports
 - A. Superintendent's Report
 - **B. Board Chair's Report**
 - C. Business Manager's Report
 - **D. Student Representative(s) Report**

VI. Reports from Schools

VII. Educational Issues

FoodCorps – Alexis Zimba Dropout Prevention – Susan Taylor and Andrew Cavanaugh

VIII. Action Items

A. Approve 2016-17 Board of Directors meeting calendar Motion: Guy Bourrie Second: Natasha Irving

Amend Motion: Brooke Simmons to approve committees at a later date Second: Sandra O'Farrell Vote: 235 – 471 – 69 Motion failed.

Motion to go back to original motion Vote: 664 – 111 – 0

- B. Approve Comprehensive Emergency Management Plan Motion: Sandra O' Farrell Second: Erik Amundsen Vote: 775 - 0 - 0
- C. Sign the certification referendum vote
- D. Sign the town assessment warrants

E. Approve policies for 2nd reading

- a. CBI Evaluation of the Superintendent
- b. DBC Annual Budget Adoption Procedure
- Motion: Guy Bourrie Second: Sandra O' Farrell Vote: 775 0 0

IX. Committee Reports

- A. Policy Committee September 6th @ 5:00 p.m. Central Office
- B. Finance Committee July 7th @ 5:30 p.m. Central Office
- C. Facilities-Transportation Committee August TBD @ 4:30 p.m. Central Office
- D. Curriculum Committee TBD @ 5:00 p.m. MMS
- E. Personnel Committee TBD @ 5:30 p.m. MMS
- X. Region 8 Board June 22nd @ 7:00 p.m. MCST
- XI. Adjournment 8:43 p.m.

All meetings of the Board, except executive sessions, will be open to the public. All actions of the Board will be taken openly and the deliberations leading to Board action will likewise be conducted openly. The public and district employees are encouraged to attend Board meetings. A time of up to thirty minutes in duration for comments by visitors at Board meetings will be scheduled at the beginning of the Board's agenda. Board committee meetings are open to the public. Public input is welcomed but the Board Chair may need to limit discussion.