REGIONAL SCHOOL UNIT 40

Friendship • Union • Waldoboro • Warren • Washington 1070 Heald Highway, PO Box 701, Union, Maine 04862 207.785.2277

Steve Nolan, Superintendent Kimberly Schroeter, Director of Instruction Karla Miller, Business Manager Karen Etheridge, Director of Special Services

Board of Directors Meeting

Thursday, August 6, 2015 Central Office – Union

MINUTES

School Board Members: Erik Amundsen, Sara Andrews, Guy Bourrie, Tod Brown, Cheryl Cichowski, Ann Donaldson, Dana Dow, Danny Jackson, Lynda Letteney, Bill Moody, Sandra O'Farrell, Dorothy Robinson, Errol Silvestri, Brooke Simmons, Tara Wellman, Bob Williams, Dennis Wooster

- I. The meeting was called to order by Chair Danny Jackson at 7:01 p.m.
 - 1. Pledge of Allegiance
 - 2. Declaration of Quorum: 651 of 1000
 - 3. Note Absences: Erik Amundsen, Sandra O'Farrell, Brooke Simmons, Tara Wellman, Dennis Wooster
 - 4. Adjustments
- II. Audience with the Public
- III. Consent Agenda

IV.

Motion to approve the Minutes of July 16, 2015: Errol Silvestri Second: Dana Dow Vote: 578 – 0 – 73 (Bill Moody)

` '

Superintendent and/or Chair Reports

- A. Superintendent's Report
 - B. Board Chair's Report
 - C. Business Manager's Report

Karla informed the board that there was a corrected report in their packets and is asking for a \$70,000 budget transfer to Article 1 – Regular Instruction.

V. Reports from Schools

- **A.** Matt Lash, Athletic Director, reported out on the status of the athletic trainer and the different options that are being explored.
- VI. Presentations Linda Bowe RSU 40 vision and mission statement
- VII. Educational Issues

VIII. Action Items

A. Approve the following teacher nominations

a. Tyler Hilchey – LEAD Program Teacher – Medomak Valley High School

- b. Jackson Fortin Health Teacher Medomak Middle School
- c. Larry Wheelis Math Teacher Medomak Valley High School
- d. Krisanne Baker Fine Arts Teacher Medomak Valley High School

Motion: Dana Dow Second: Bob Williams Vote: 651 - 0 - 0

B. Approve negotiation committee members for 2015-16

a. Erik Amundsen, Tod Brown, Dana Dow, Danny Jackson, Dennis Wooster

Motion: Lynda Letteney Second: Errol Silvestri Vote: 582 - 0 - 69

(Tod Brown)

C. Approve the transfer of a sum of money from FY15 Budget

Motion to transfer \$70,000 to Article 1 – Regular Instruction from Article 2 – Special Education (\$30,000), Article 9 – Facilities (\$30,000) and Article 6 – System Administration (\$10,000): Dana Dow Second: Errol Silvestri Vote: 651 - 0 - 0

IX. Committee Reports

- A. Personnel Committee TBA
- **B.** Curriculum Committee TBA
- C. Facilities-Transportation Committee TBA
- D. Finance Committee TBA
- E. Negotiations Committee TBA
- F. Policy Committee TBA
- G. Region 8 Committee TBA
- H. Many Flags Committee TBA
- X. The meeting adjourned at 8:25 p.m.

All meetings of the Board, except executive sessions, will be open to the public. All actions of the Board will be taken openly and the deliberations leading to Board action will likewise be conducted openly. The public and district employees are encouraged to attend Board meetings. A time of up to thirty minutes in duration for comments by visitors at Board meetings will be scheduled at the beginning of the Board's agenda. Board committee meetings are open to the public. Public input is welcomed but the Board Chair may need to limit discussion.