REGIONAL SCHOOL UNIT 40

Friendship • Union • Waldoboro • Warren • Washington 1070 Heald Highway, PO Box 701, Union, Maine 04862 207.785.2277

Steve Nolan, Superintendent Christina Wotton, Assistant Superintendent Karen Pike, Business Manager Karen Brackett, Director of Special Services

Board of Directors Meeting Central Office Thursday, June 2, 2022 7:00 p.m.

Join by computer: or Join by phone: meet.google.com/ajs-ptnf-hsk (US)+1 973-457-8534 PIN: 481 685 334#

School Board Members: Julia Abernethy, Erik Amundsen, Guy Bourrie, Morgan Hynd, Danny Jackson, Randy Kassa, Sandra O'Farrell, Angela Robinson, Brooke Simmons, Matthew Speno, Julie Swindler, Emily Trask-Eaton, Jeanette Wheeler, Melvin Williams, Robert Williams

Student Representatives: Natalie Dean, Owen Weber, Elizabeth Swan (alternate)

Minutes

- I. Call to Order: 7:00 p.m.
 - A. Pledge of Allegiance
 - B. Declaration of Quorum: 816 of 931
 - C. Note Absences: Sandra O'Farrell, Brooke Simmons
 - D. Additions/Adjustments to the Agenda
 - 1. Revise Action Item B:

Approve nomination of probationary teacher

Change 3rd year to 2nd year Probationary going to 1st Year Continuing

1. Eva Benner – Teacher – Friendship Village School

II. Consent Agenda – Approve Minutes of May 13, 2022

Motion: Guy Bourrie Second: Matthew Speno Vote: 761-0-55

(Julia Abernethy)

Approve Minutes of May 19, 2022

Motion: Guy Bourrie Second: Emily Trask-Eaton Vote: 816-0-0

III. Superintendent and/or Chair Reports

- A. Board Chair's Report
- B. Superintendent's Report
- C. Business Manager's Report
- D. Student Representatives' Report

IV. Reports from Schools

V. Audience with the Public

VI. Action Items

- A. Approve teacher nominations
 - 1. Jasmine Ambridge Teacher Miller School
 - 2. Heidi Hall Teacher Medomak Middle School

Motion: Mathew Speno Second: Guy Bourrie Vote: 816-0-0

B. Approve nomination of probationary teacher

3rd 2rd Year Probationary going to 1st Year Continuing

1. Eva Benner – Teacher – Friendship Village School

Motion: Julie Swindler Second: Melvin Williams Vote: 816-0-0

- C. Approve student representatives to the School Board
 - 1. Finian Kelly
 - 2. Austin Whitney

Motion: Melvin Williams Second: Bob Williams Vote: 816-0-0

- D. Approve job descriptions
 - 1. Director of Technology
 - 2. School Counselor

Motion: Melvin Williams Second: Julie Swindler Vote: 816-0-0

E. Elect delegate to MSBA annual delegate assembly

Elect Danny Jackson as delegate to MSBA annual delegate assembly

Motion: Julie Swindler Second: Erik Amundsen Vote: 743-0-73

(Danny Jackson)

F. Elect alternate delegate to annual delegate assembly

Elect Matthew Speno as the alternate delegate to MSBA annual delegate assembly Motion: Matthew Speno Second: Melvin Williams Vote: 761-0-55

(Matthew Speno)

- G. Approve policies for 2nd read
 - 1. JKD Suspension of Students
 - 2. JKE Expulsion of Students
 - 3. JKE-R Expulsion of Students Procedure
 - 4. JLCD Administering Medication to Students

Motion: Mathew Speno Second: Guy Bourrie Vote: 816-0-0

VII. Committee Meetings

- A. Curriculum June 9th @ 5:00 p.m. Central Office Medomak Valley High School
- B. Facilities June 16th @ 4:00 p.m. Central Office
- C. Finance June 16th @ 5:30 p.m. Central Office

- VIII. Board Meeting June 16th @ 7:00 p.m. Central Office
- IX. Region 8 Board Meeting June 22nd @ 7:00 p.m. Region 8
- **X. Adjourn:** 7:42 p.m.

All meetings of the Board, except executive sessions, will be open to the public. All actions of the Board will be taken openly. The public and district employees are encouraged to attend Board meetings. A time for comments by visitors at Board meetings will be scheduled on the Board's agenda. Public input is welcomed but the Board Chair may limit discussion.